Uncategorized

Potato chowder

This is a very comforting and filling soup.

For this recipe you will need :

smoked streaky bacon

onions

carrots

celery

potatoes

corn

peas

cheese

spring onions

 

I start by cooking some smoked streaky bacon cut into 1/2 inch or so strips on low so that the fat renders – I also add a teaspoon or so of rapeseed oil to help start the process.

I add some sliced onions and let the bacon and onion cook gently for about 10 minutes.

Meanwhile I prepare the other vegetables : sliced celery, sweetcorn, diced potatoes and diced carrots. I throw them in with the onion and bacon and let them soften for 10 minutes or so. Then I add some plain flour, this with the bacon fat is the base for a roux, which will thicken the soup. I cook this for a minute or so, just to cook the flour. Liquid-wise I use half vegetable and half milk. I let the chowder cook on low for about 20 minutes or until the vegetables are tender. Off the heat I add the peas. You can also add some chilli cheese or grated chilli at this point – how much is up to you, personally I don’t do heat very well so a tiny amount is fine.

To serve I scoop the chowder in a bowl and sprinkle some grated cheese and sliced spring onions.

Leave a Reply

